Make Your Own Suds

Dropping $20 on a container of Tide was nothing to me.  I’m a huge fan of the way Tide smells and lets face it, we want extremely clean clothes.  After visiting my sister one holiday, I asked to do some laundry before heading home with an exploding suitcase filled with dirty laundry.  After starting my wash, I soon realized there wasn’t any laundry detergent.  Or so I thought.  She quickly taught me that homemade laundry detergent is just as effective, much cheaper and lasts you just as long as the container you buy in the store.

Now, I wouldn’t do anything except make my own detergent.  I do add Downy Unstoppables into my wash, however that’s just for an added scent booster and is entirely up to you.  Now I cannot take credit for discovering this recipe, I have simply modified a few different ones that I have come across, however the very first recipe I started using was by a blog, ‘Why Not Sew?‘.

Try it out.  It’s very inexpensive and can save you a ton of money every month if you do as much laundry as I do!

Laundry Detergent (Homemade):

  • 1 bar of soap (any kind/scent that you desire)
  • 1 cup of Borax
  • 1 cup of Baking Soda or Washing Soda (whichever you can find)
  • a big pot ( that holds more than 2 gallons)
  • a grater
  • a long spoon
  • large container (holds more than 2 gallons)

What you do:

  • Grate your bar of soap
  • Add 1 gallon of water into the big pot, along with soap shavings and cook down until soap dissolves
  • You want to add the borax and washing soda or baking soda
  • Bring to a boil and the soap will start to come together
  • Turn off the heat and add another gallon of water
  • Stir mixture well
  • Pour detergent into desired containers.  Milk jugs, mason jars, or even an unused drink dispenser work well.

**Use approximately 1/2 cup of detergent per load for a medium-large sized load of laundry.

Original credit for this recipe & credit for the below photo goes to: Why Not Sew?

LaundryDetergent

 

Leave a Reply

